The Weekend I’ve Had

Standard

I have been publishing this blog for a little over 2 years, and I realized I never truly mention things that go on in my life. Only through my poems, do you, my readers, get an inkling about my mind state. All writers, all blogs, write and post differently, some preferring to have their writing revolve around their lives, some not so much. The latest medical drama that I have gone through, am continuing to go through, I thought I would share with you, if only to give you a glimpse of the… interesting things that my body likes putting me through on occasion.

For the last two weeks now, my body gave me the great privilege of experiencing a pain I have never had before: left side of back, and left side abdominal area. Having it become very uncomfortable in inhale deeply and unable to sleep laying down in any position, I went to see a doctor. After blood work, an x-ray, and a cardiogram, he believed I had a blood clot in my left lung that had traveled up from my leg. Between my appointment time at my doctor’s and finally being discharged for the day, I had spent about 8 hours trying to figure out what was going on.

Flash forward to Monday morning, I had an ultrasound done on both legs to see if one of them had thrown a clot. Negative. I had a second x-ray. Also negative. Lung scan, which was very interesting to experience, I might add. Also, negative, everything the scan showed was within ‘normal range.’ Conclusion? Not a blood clot, but, and here is the kicker, somehow I bruised the inside of my ribcage, quite badly.

Needless to say, I wasn’t happy. I was quite pissed for the rest of the day, and still am to be honest. A blood clot they can take out, they can fix that. What they’ve diagnosed me with, no one can do anything.  I will have to sit and sleep and work in pain until it heals on its own. Do you know how long that will take because of the minor issue of not being about to stop breathing? It’s like having a bruise on your arm that someone is constantly poking, not allowing it to heal quickly. Every time I inhale, my lungs push against the bruising, every time I sneeze or cough or yawn, pushes harder on the bruise. It’s going to take weeks to heal.

I know pain. You may think, ‘you’re young, you don’t know pain yet.’ Well, maybe one day, I’ll go into how I know pain a bit more. For now though, I have never down well with having a constant pain that flares up when it feels like it, that goes on for weeks. I become tired of it, but I know that it will eventually go away. This, this I don’t know how to handle. This could takes weeks, probably months of pain all day and all night, before being gone completely.

And all they could do for the pain? 600mg of ibuprofen. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

