[Poem][In Control]

Standard

It feels like my heart is slowing these days

Like something is holding it in its hand

And squeezing, just every so often

Just enough to remind me that things are beyond my control

No matter how much I accomplish

There will always be something, lingering

Reminding me that it’s far from over

The struggle, the pain, the climb upwards

Forward, always moving, can’t stop

I feel if I slow down anymore

Everything will fall apart

That everything will come to an end

And nothing will be the same anymore

To keep moving forward seems a farce

Can I keep going, with everything against me?

Love keeps telling me I can

No matter how often, how hard my heart is held

I can keep going and make a change

So when everything comes to an end

I’ll know it was always in my control

Leave a Reply

