[Winter Power Outage: What Do You Do All Day?]

Standard

It has become the new age question: so many things to do, where do I begin? Video games, forums, browser games, PC games, Gameboy DS/3DS, PSP, cell phone apps, online newspapers, online magazines, your Kobo/Kindle/tablet; the list goes on. But, they all require a source of electricity. So what happens when the batteries run out?

We turn to the archaic: paper books, pen and paper, we physically leave the home to talk to friends and family, we play board games, we spend time with each other. These are things many of us did when we were growing up. I’m a 90s child, so growing up more electronics were being developed and becoming cheaper. It was easier to get our hands on them, and for some people, became babysitters for parents. My parents though, never replied on them because, growing up themselves, they didn’t have any of these devices.

Personally, I have an entire bookshelf that can be read through, and enough paper and pens to paper Mache myself a house. I would be perfectly alright. I don’t live on my computer; I don’t solely rely on things that need to be plugged in in order to entertain myself. But eventually, I do need to turn my laptop back on, I do need to spend a few hours catching up with people I can’t see in person, and check in with blogs I follow and my own blog.

It is just the world we live in now where to move forward in our lives, we need to be connected. But, now and then though, it’s nice to power down and go back to basics.

One thought on “[Winter Power Outage: What Do You Do All Day?]

  1. I have to admit I didn’t read the text but was totally drawn in by the picture and had to check: YES that’s Toronto! almost 16 years later and I still recognized it. Thank you! 😉

Leave a Reply

