[You Get What You Give – Posting on Other Blogger’s Blogs]

Standard

You Get What You Give

Over the month of January, I have tested this statement, and I have found it 100% true. On WordPress, and Facebook, and Twitter, if you put the energy into reading, having a good think, and commenting on something another blogger has posted, they are likely to return the favour. It actually makes the whole experience of blogging, and being on the internet in general, more interesting and enriching experience.

I know follow quite a few blog on WordPress because of the usernames and user pictures I’ve clicked on while visiting other blogs I have been following for a while now. I have found unique ideas presented through poetry and creative writings, through discussion pieces, and even a very misogynistic gentleman who thinks women need men in order to survive and basically serve every sexual need any man asks of them. I was quite the blog he had, I’ll tell you. But, I never would have discovered any of the eye-opening things I did without showing some interest and sharing my point of view.

I have seen a fair share of writers striving to make something of their writing, but only one actually posted directly asking for donations, and it was increasingly annoying. The only thing I would see on my feed from him, was him asking for money to fund his writing efforts. He would offer compensation, like reblogging a post of your for $50 and he does have over 10,000 followers, so if you could afford it, it’s a good idea. However, he doesn’t have a job to support him, and not once has he mentioned looking for one to support him so he could keep writing. I was very disappointed because his was the very first blog I followed when I joined WordPress in the fall of 2013. I thought it would be difficult letting this writer go after following his progress this last year, but when I commented with some good advice, he refused to approve the comment. Last time I checked, when another writer offered some good advice, even if you do not plan on following it, you take a moment to say ‘thank you for caring’.

The few comments I receive on my own work, I make sure I give my full attention to when replying back. I do this because I know if I care about the people who do take the time to comment, they will comment again, and make my writing stronger in the long run. They would never say anything mean, neither would I, but constructive criticism is always welcome and should be by serious writers.

You truly get what you give on a site like WordPress. If you post and open yourself to other’s opinions and take the time to comment on their posts, and others, you receive more help. Writing isn’t about making money, it’s about sharing ideas and sharing ourselves. I wish some people, who have a huge follower count, realized that.

One thought on “[You Get What You Give – Posting on Other Blogger’s Blogs]

Leave a Reply

