[Writer’s Pen]

Standard

Writer’s Pen

I’m not sure what got me started, but I’m pretty sure I will never remember. I’m not sure what made me pick  up my pencil and made me write something I didn’t have to for school or for my parents, or for anything that needed to be written down. Can I explain it as an overactive imagination? Considering I was about 10 when I began writing, it’s quite plausible.

I remember a scene from that wonderful TV series that was cancelled before it could really begin, Almost Human, where two of the main characters share a very cute scene where John uses a pen to write Valerie something on a piece of paper. Doesn’t sounds like anything usually cute or memorable… but this show is based in the “not-so-distant” future, where nearly everything is digital and on tablets and computers. Pens and pencils were obsolete. It was amazing to think of such a state of the world.

It would be pretty amazing to see though. That is the one thing I dislike about my personal writing process: I prefer to write on paper first, then type it up. Killing trees is not on my agenda, but that is how I write. It has always been that way for me, and I don’t see that changing any time soon. I love the feel of a pen in my hand. It feels right than just tapping some keys and watching words appear before my eyes. Too clinical for my tastes, I think at least.

But, I digress. The way I write influences what I write and how I write. It was pens and paper that got me started write in the first place. Why on earth would I take away what got me started?

4 thoughts on “[Writer’s Pen]

  1. Amber Danette

    I totally agree 🙂 There’s nothing more personal or real, than putting pen to paper and watching our Creations grow 🙂

  2. I too, can’t stop writing on paper -with pens of various types. I think that there will always be people who would keep on writing with pen and paper – otherwise, what kind of world would this be?

    • Definitely! Markers are fun for that too. Perhaps not for writing lines of text, but it’s liberating more so than simply clicking a few things and enlarging the cursor on your computer screen.

Leave a Reply

