[Poem][Stripes]

Standard

Stripes

            You steal my fur but not my stripes.

                        My stripes are my soul, they are mine,

                                                And you will never have them.

            Come with your guns and your knives.

                                    You take my skin off, bleach my bones,

                        Harvest my organs but you will never be me.

            Your children, your grandchild, and children’s children,

                                    Will never know me…

            You destroy when you should save,

                                                            The majesty of my skills, to hunt, to survive,

                                    To care for the cubs that you too hunt for.

                        I teach them my ways, my skills,

To survive not only the wild, but to survive you.

You will never own them either.

            Your children, your grandchild, and children’s children,

                        Will never know them, they will escape them too,

As I do with you now.

                                  My story is old, I have outlived you so far.

There are those that will fight to protect my cubs,

                                                When I cannot protect them or myself.

                But if you corner me, I will protect mine.

                                                              I will live beyond you.

                                                              You will never be me.

One thought on “[Poem][Stripes]

  1. I love the big cats. I love small cats, too. In fact, I love all animals. No, not chimps, I don’t love them. They murder each other, just like we do.

Leave a Reply

